Current Diet/Workout

What I ate today:

*8 oz. water with lemon upon rising  (warm it up in the microwave about 30 seconds & squeeze 2 wedges of lemon in the water; it detoxes the liver & helps rid your body of toxins).

Breakfast:  1 cup Quaker oatmeal squares + 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla coconut milk  (*I usually have a piece of fruit, but since my husband was gearing to get to the gym, forgot to eat one this morning!) + 16 oz of water

Lunch:  A yummy turkey wrap.  My word, it was so good.  I used a whole wheat wrap, spread on 1 Tbsp. of Opa Greek Yogurt Salad Dressing (Ranch) + 5 oz. turkey breast + Romaine lettuce, a bit of bell pepper, green onion, chopped carrot + banana (since I forgot my fruit with breakfast) + 16 oz. water

Snack:  Apple + 2 Tbsp of PB2 (chocolate flavor) + 16 oz. water

Dinner:  The Hubster is making a delicious vegetable beef soup from scratch as I type this & I plan to eat 1-2 cups of that tonight.  Plus more water!

A few things about my diet:  Please know that I am not a nutritionist.  I’m just a mom, wife & book nerd who has found herself in a hot mess re: health & weight.  I’ve started eating this way due to a lot of trial-and-error.  I do know that what I was doing wasn’t working for me.  I felt lethargic, sleepy and was super-moody most of the time due to all of the crap I was putting into my body.  I feel better now that I’ve changed my diet.   My weight is coming off slowly, about 1-2 lbs. per week.  I do not calorie count (at the moment), but have fiddled around with My Fitness Pal app on my Nook.  I’m better at typing/writing it all down though.

Most days I try to Eat Clean.  What does that mean?  I limit my sugar, bread, flour & processed foods.  I load up on lean protein, fruits & veggies.  I do have some things in my diet that are not 100% clean, but my diet is a work in progress.  I am not perfect all of the time.  I’m not above taking my kids out for ice cream occasionally, because it really is all about moderation, not deprivation.

A book that has helped me tremendously has been Tosca Reno’s book “The Eat Clean Diet Recharged.”  I cannot say enough good things about this book.  She explains things in an easy to understand manner, gives you meal ideas, lunch cooler ideas, etc.   If you are a newbie to Eating Clean, then I highly suggest you read this book.  Ms. Reno has another book coming out December 31st & I’m going to treat myself to a copy of that as well.  It’s called “The Start Here Diet.”   I will post a review of that book once I read it.

My Workout:

I found a personal trainer that I clicked with & she put me on a really great program that fits my schedule.  Between work & kids, I’m a busy person, as I’m sure most of you are.  Here is my “Beginner’s Workout” that I’m currently doing.

Cardio/Fat Burning:  My trainer told me to stay within my Target Heart Rate for at least 30 minutes 3x/week.  She also suggested that I not hit the gym more than 3x/week so that I wouldn’t get burned out.  I’m also supposed to use at least a 2% incline if using a treadmill.

If you belong to a gym, most of them have treadmills that will take your heart rate for you.  If you don’t have access to a gym, I would go to Walmart or Target & purchase a heart rate monitor and just start walking.  Whether you walk around the block or march in front of the TV set–just get moving!   I was lucky enough to receive one for Christmas (Thanks, Mommy!).  I can post the one that I’m using if anybody wants me to.  It’s really easy to use & I love it.

To figure out your Target Heart Rate, go here.

Strength Training:  My trainer told me to aim for 2-3 sessions/week.  I am starting off with lighter weights, not because I’m afraid of bulking up, but because I am a weakling & have short arms like a T-Rex.  I’m currently using 3 lb. free weights.  I do chest flys, overhead shoulder presses, tricep presses, bicep curls, etc.

A great DVD that I love is Bob Greene’s Total Body Makeover.  It includes a book with nutrition suggestions/advice as well.  The DVD is great & divided up into 8 weeks.  You start with Week 1, move onto Week 2, etc.  You get the drift.  You will need a mat, free weights & a sturdy chair to do the workout.

My other suggestion is to visit the Tone It Up website & their YouTube channel to get tips/workouts.  There are great workout printable PDFs on the website for FREE, which is great.  I am printing them out & putting them in a binder.  They do have a nutrition program you can buy, which I’m thinking about doing, but it is pricey ($150), so that’s something I have to save up for.  Their Beach Babe DVDs are on my list of workouts to try & when I do so, I’ll post a review.  🙂

I think that’s all for now!  If you have any questions/suggestions/comments, feel free to e-mail me at: mrsmandyedwards0729@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Current Diet/Workout

  1. The “Beginners Workout” your trainer suggested sounds just right….not too little and not too much. Also, I “LOL’ed” at your T-Rex comparison. 🙂

    • Haha! Well, I *do* have T-Rex arms! Push-ups are tough. I have to do kitchen counter push-ups because I’m such a wuss. ;p The workout is really great so far & I’m looking forward to seeing how far I can push myself to the next level. I’ll keep you updated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

