Rewards, Pounds Lost, Food/Workout Journal

Okay, so I’m losing weight.  Like CrAzY.  And I feel really, really awesome.  I have so much energy!  I began my journey about two months ago after I read Tosca Reno’s book “The Eat Clean Diet Recharged” and decided to change my life.

So, I weighed myself this past Sunday, and let me tell you, after the holiday I had at my folks’ house, I was seriously SCARED to step onto that scale.  I mean, my mom received a deep fryer for Christmas and one night we had a “What isn’t nailed down that can we fry?” kinda night.  This consisted of a homemade blooming onion, jalapeno poppers, fried pickles…it was a heart attack on a plate.  Then we washed that down with bear claws from the Savannah Candy Kitchen.  I felt like crap that night.  Oh, and I paid for it the next day!  My body was getting used to eating clean foods that fuel my body, not fried junk!  It did not react very well at all.  I did my best to stick to eating clean & once we got home I went back to plan.  Now my body is happy again.  🙂

Back to the scale…I mustered the courage to step onto it, inhaled sharply and gasped when I read the numbers.  I was down 6 pounds!  Even after our night of eating fried junk, I still lost weight.  I know I succeeded because I had the discipline to go back on plan straight away.   Then, I weighed myself this morning…another 3 pounds down.  That’s 9 pounds in 2 weeks!  I am over the moon with my results!  🙂  *does the Snoopy dance*

The other topic I’d like to cover is rewarding one’s self along the way.  I think it’s so important to be kind to yourself & use rewards as a motivator.  On New Year’s Eve, I wrote a list of rewards (non-food) to encourage myself to keep going regarding my new lifestyle change.  I won’t post them here because it’s incredibly long & mainly girly stuff.  I’m a complete makeup junkie.  Sephora is my House of Worship. (Dear Universe, I need NARS The Multiple, Tarte bronzer, Urban Decay eye shadow, NARS eyeliner, Body scrub & TanTowel to look spiffy in my swimsuit this summer…)

Today I crossed off two of my rewards:

1.  Get a manicure.

Pink gel nails.  Feeling purty!

Pink gel nails. Feeling purty!

2.  Get hair done.

"Can you even dye my eyes to match my gown?"

“Can you even dye my eyes to match my gown?”

To some, this wouldn’t be a big deal, but for someone who is used to taking care of everybody else but themselves, it was major.  I discovered a new salon by my house and they doted on me.  Do you remember the scene in The Wizard of Oz where Dorothy has reached the Emerald City & they’re giving her a big makeover before she meets the Wizard?  Well, I had that kinda day.

I plan to reward myself with little things as I lose weight.  It doesn’t always have to be expensive, either.  Sometimes just stopping by CVS and getting a new lip gloss or eye shadow will do.  I think that making yourself feel good is important.  Remember to flip your list & put yourself on top!  (Another thing I learned from reading Tosca Reno’s books!)

What I Ate Today:

*lemon water upon rising

Breakfast:  Steel cut oats + chopped apple + unsweetened vanilla coconut milk + 1 Tbsp. ground flaxseeds

32 oz. of water

Lunch:  4 oz. roasted chicken breast (no skin) + 1 cup broccoli & cauliflower with sea salt & cracked pepper & side salad–Romaine lettuce, cucumber, scallions–no dressing, just squeeze of lemon

Snack:  1 banana + 2 Tbsp. of PB2

32 oz. water

Dinner:  Grilled chicken salad, no dressing, just squeezed lemon on top of it + water with lemon (can you tell I was in a lemony kinda mood?!)

32 oz. water

Post-Workout Snack:  2 oz. turkey breast + 1/2 cup fresh pineapple

My Workout:

45 minutes alternating 5 min. power walking, 5 min. jogging, meeting my Target Heart Rate  (= a little over 2 miles distance-wise)

30 minutes of free weights (arms, shoulders, squats & crunches, 25 push-ups)

That’s all I have for now!  I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend!  🙂

~Mrs. E

7 thoughts on “Rewards, Pounds Lost, Food/Workout Journal

  1. 6 pounds! That’s awesome! Congrats on that! I’m also a huge sucker for rewarding ourselves on the small milestones. If you just look at the end picture, it becomes too daunting. However, if you reward yourself along the way, it somehow becomes more manageable. I absolutely love the manicure and getting the hair done is an awesome idea! CONGRATS again! You go girl!!

    • Thank you so much! It really does help, doesn’t it? I felt like a pampered princess yesterday. The salon was also giving away free 20 minute massages, so I got one of those as well. I can’t wait to reward myself with a pair of skinny jeans. I plan to buy a pair in my goal size (6) & hang them up in my room for inspiration. Thanks again & I hope that 2014 is an awesome year for you! 🙂

      • A massage too? Oh, you were so pampered! But it was well earned and completely needed! I like the idea of buying an article of clothing and hanging it up; I’ve just been too nervous to try that just in case, you know? But I think its a wonderful idea and it would help a heap for inspiration!

Leave a comment