Book Reviews

I read three good books this week and wanted to share them with you.  🙂

 

 

French Women Don’t Get Facelifts by Mireille Guiliano.

french women don't get facelifts

Before I begin my review, I should warn you that I’m a HUGE Francophile.  I speak French (well, Franglais…je dois pratiquer plus…)  I buy way too many scarves.  Even the perfume I’ve worn every single day for over 20 years is French.  (Samsara by Guerlain)  And I’m a sucker for a good café crème.  In fact, I love anything and everything French.  At this point, the country should probably request a restraining order.

In this book, Ms. Guiliano discusses the aging process and ways to make one feel better about themselves as they age.  She discusses everything from putting together the perfect, chic wardrobe, to moving our bodies, eating for health & longevity and putting together a skin care/body regime that will help us look and feel better as we get older.  I really loved this book and I think women of all ages can benefit from this information.  It is never too early to start caring for yourself, but if you do not start at some point, one day you will reach a point where all will be lost.  It’s something to think about.

 

This book is definitely one to add to your book shelf.  I also enjoy Mireille Guiliano’s other books, so you should check them out.

The second book I read was The Body Book by Cameron Diaz.

cammy d

The cynic in me wanted to hate this book.  I really, really wanted to.  After all, who does this rich, thin, tall, blonde woman without children think she is?  Who is she to tell ME, an average wife and mother, how to achieve the perfect body?  I bought the book anyway, and I am glad that I did.  It was really interesting!  She doesn’t preach or try to pretend she is perfect.  She embraces her age and shares what has worked for her.  And, believe me, she has a great body because she works hard for it!  This book also explains the science behind the female body, what sorts of foods we should be using to fuel our bodies with and how we should move our bodies.

The last book I read was The Start Here Diet by Tosca Reno.

tosca

This was another excellent book by my hero, Tosca Reno.  I tell almost everyone I know to go out and buy her other book–The Eat Clean Diet Recharged–but, I believe this book is also a wonderful place for beginners to start.  (Hence the title…)  In this book, Ms. Reno discusses the days when she struggled with her weight.  She weighed over 200 lbs. at one point in her life.  She revamped her entire life.

I especially love her message about how it is never too late to start taking care of yourself or to change your life.  She goes through the reasons why we should start moving our bodies.  She also goes into detail about the sorts of foods we should be fueling our bodies with.  And she does all of this with a positive voice.  It’s like she is your own, personal cheerleader that wants you to succeed.  Follow Tosca on Facebook–her page makes me smile & motivates me every single day!

If you are a fitness beginner and truly want to change your life for the better, I highly recommend this book.

Have a fantastic weekend!  🙂

~Mrs. E

Leave a Reply

