What Diets Have You Tried?/Moving Your Body/Find a Diet Buddy :)

What diets have you tried?  Did you succeed or fail on them?  I have tried just about every diet known to man.  In high school, I was a size 0.  Yep.  ZERO.  A gust of wind could’ve blown me over.  I didn’t feel comfortable in my too-skinny body though.  In college, I toggled between a 4 & 6, which was nice.  I was thin, but curvy & felt good about my body and my overall health was great.   After I had my first child, I got back down to an 8/10.  After my second child, I didn’t lose the pregnancy weight, but ended up gaining.  A lot.

To get the weight off, I’ve tried low-carb/no carb, eating clean, going vegan/raw (after the third day, I was praying to God to please send me a cow or someone was gonna get hurt!), going vegetarian (Morningstar Farms Chik patties aren’t so bad…), counting calories…the Parisian Diet (only because I could live off of cheese & bread)…but nothing ever worked for me long-term.  I’d lose a few pounds and then go off the program and gain back the original weight, plus a few more pounds.  Weight Watchers has been the only thing that has worked for me so far.

As a Librarian, I get to read the new diet & health books as they come into the library.  I’ve noticed that most of them are gimmicky & don’t work.  The same goes for fitness books that are being released by personal trainers on T.V.  In regards to exercise, I’ll never be a gym rat.  I tried and I easily get bored, feel self-conscious when I go and end up quitting.  Innately, I crave gentle movement.  I’m more of a power walking/hiking/yoga kinda gal.  The important thing, I’ve learned, is to just move.  Even for 15 minutes to get your heart rate up and then do some stretching.   This has been helping me a lot.

The other topic I’d like to bring up is accountability.  I have never been able to do this on my own.  I need support and it’s nice that I have a friend who is on Weight Watchers.  My suggestion to you?  Find a diet buddy & help each other.  We share recipes and cheer each other on when we lose.  We even plan girls nights & make healthy WW-friendly recipes.   (We live in the South & we sure love to cook!)  Last week, we made Skinny Enchiladas & Snickers Bar Pie (courtesy of Weight Watcher Girl’s blog.  If you don’t follow her on Facebook & YouTube, you should because her videos are so inspiring to those following WW!)

This Sunday we’re having Cheesy Jalapeno Popper Baked Stuffed Chicken & Blueberry Cream Pie!  Does that sound like a diet or deprivation to you?  Me either!  We follow this with lots of fun gossip & chick flicks.  (This weekend we’re watching “Catch & Release” with Justified’s Timothy Olyphant…so dreamy!)

These are the things that are helping me right now.  You have to find what works for you though.  Expect setbacks, but also expect victories.  Celebrate the small successes and give yourself a pat on the back!  The only way you can do this is by being kind to yourself.  🙂

Have a great week!

~Mrs. E

 

 

Leave a Reply

