Weekly Weigh-In :)

I had my weekly weigh-in this morning (I do Weight Watchers online, so no meetings or need to do my weigh-ins in front of other people!) & I have lost another 2.2 pounds since last week!!!  I am so happy right now!  🙂  I know that I won’t see such big losses every week, but I am losing weight the healthy way…about 1-2 pounds per week. 

I am a visual person & I wanted to see what 2 lbs looked like, so I Googled some images & found this picture of 1 lb of ground beef:

Image

So, this is just 1 lb of ground beef & I’ve lost 2 of these this week.  I still have a long way to go, but this is progress! 

My ankle is feeling a lot better this morning and I know I need to get back to exercising.  I’m going to start power walking & strength training as of today.  I use my treadmill and make sure I stay within my target heart rate (to find yours, click here) and aim for 1-2 miles, depending on how I feel.  I am aiming for 2 miles/day because I read somewhere (I don’t recall the article/book) that if you walk 2 miles a day, fat doesn’t stand a chance.  When I’m on the treadmill, I tell myself, “Just do 15 minutes.”  Once I get there, I tell myself, “C’mon, you can do 15 more!”  Before I know it, I’ve done 30-45 minutes of exercise & feel like I’ve really accomplished something.  As far as strength training goes, I really like the Bob Greene:  Total Body Makeover DVD.  The workouts start out easy and gradually get harder over time.  All you need is a mat, chair & free weights and can work out in the comfort of your own home.  

My husband does TRX Suspension Training and P90X. I’ve watched him and it looks like pure torture.  Like I’ve said before, I’m more of a walking/hiking/yoga kinda gal.  I’d rather hop on a treadmill or walk the track at our local park, listen to the birds sing & look at the mountains.  I think the overall point is to just get moving, no matter what exercise you choose to do.  🙂

~Mrs. E

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Weigh-In :)

Leave a Reply

