Obstacles? What Obstacles?/Have Faith in Yourself

Image

Today I was faced with a big obstacle:  a breakfast buffet.  *cue the Exorcist soundtrack now*

At the library, we had our annual volunteer appreciation breakfast and it was a catered event.  I was actually quite nervous about going. I woke up at 4:30 a.m. in a panic, worried about what I could/could not eat.  I have worked SO hard to get the first 10 lbs off & I am so afraid of putting it back down.  After downing 16 oz. of ice water, I decided I was not going to let food get the best of me!  I mean, I live in the South & we LOVE food.  There were grits, biscuits and butter, 3 different types of quiche, assorted pastries, fruit, coffee, sweet tea & juice.  I made a plan even before I left the house–I was going to have a bit of quiche, a piece of pastry and fruit.  And, I was only going to drink ice water with lemon.  Also, I was going to make sure that I left food on my plate and not finish everything. 

What happened?  Well, I stayed on plan, enjoyed talking with my colleagues, and had a great time.  I don’t know why I was so nervous!  I had to remind myself that it’s okay to indulge a bit if you control your portions and make a plan.  I also realized I needed to have faith in myself.  (I know we all struggle with this one!) 

So, don’t believe for a second that the rest of your day is ruined by eating one splurge meal or snack because it isn’t!  And don’t feel guilty!   Life is to be enjoyed. 

One of my most favorite quotes by Henry David Thoreau is:

“Live each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influences of each.” 

We beat ourselves up about the dumbest things.  If you had a splurge meal and you feel like throwing in the towel for the day, I want you to stop what you are doing, take a moment and reassess your goals.  What do you really want out of all this?  To be healthy for your husband & kids?  To hike to the top of a mountain?  To run a 5K?  To look good in your clothes again?  Really think about what it is that you truly want and GO FOR IT!!!  Then, I want you to immediately get back on plan & say “screw you” to guilt!!!  You’ve got this!

~Mrs. E

Leave a Reply

