Weekly Weigh In/Interval Running

Image

Today I attempted running for the first time in a long time.  The verdict:  it doesn’t suck.  Much.  I suppose the longer I go at it, I’ll get the famous “runner’s high” everyone speaks of, but for now, all I can think is “Ouch,” and “Dear Lord, take me now!”  I am doing interval training and I really pushed through, so I suppose I’m proud of myself for doing that.  I am doing a Couch to 5K program to get into shape.  Whether or not I actually do a 5K one day, I do not know, but I am going to do my best to get into shape.

For me, it’s not enough to be just thin.  I want to be fit.  I want to go on long hikes with my family.  I want to be able to run with my son without getting out of breath.

The other reason I’ve decided to amp up my fitness routine is because I want this weight OFF and I want it off NOW!!!  I know that if you combine a healthy diet with exercise you lose faster.  There is no magic pill.  (I’ve learned this the hard way!)  In order to lose weight, you need to MOVE.

Here’s my program for Week 1:

Warm-up with a 5 minute power walk @ 3.0 mph on the treadmill

Run for 60 seconds @ 4-5 mph & then power walk @ 3 mph

Repeat this cycle until you hit 30 minutes or until you can’t do it anymore.  (It is OK to go 10-15 minutes at first if you can’t do the whole 30 minutes. Listen to your body!)

Weigh-In:

0.50 (1/2) of a pound

So, it’s not what I’d hoped it’d be, but that’s okay.  I don’t expect big losses every week.  I’ll just keep trucking along.  🙂  I have been sticking to my points overall, but I had that really stressful day this week where I dipped into a lot of my weekly allowance points.  I don’t like doing that & I’m going to try not to do that next week.

Tonight I’m making a really healthy dinner for my family:  Skinny Turkey Chili  

The chili is 5 Points+ for 1 cup.

I’ll also be making sweet cornbread, but that will be for them, not for me.  For dessert tonight, I’m cutting up strawberries, putting a bit of Truvia on them & topping with 2 Tbsp. of Reddi Whip whipped cream (0 Points+ for dessert!!!)

Well, that’s all for now.  I hope everyone has a very Happy Easter!  🙂

Leave a Reply

