Delicious Breakfast/Snack Recommendations

I always make sure that I get a good breakfast in every single day.  It must sustain me until lunch and I need it to be filling.  Although, I do love bacon, most mornings I do not want to eat meat and I dislike eggs unless I have them in a quiche.  I tend to stick with what the French call a tartine.  

Image

When I visited Paris, I remember our hotel maid would wheel in a cart each morning filled with croissants, fresh butter and pain au chocolat, along with assorted beverages:  juice, coffee, hot chocolate and water.  I was raised in the Midwest on cereal and cold milk.  I’d never even heard of a tartine before, but once I tried it, I was hooked.  (Note:  Anne Barone’s book, Chic & Slim, also talks about tartines and having a slim, filling breakfast.  I highly suggest her books.  I have followed Anne for years and she definitely has an inspiring weight loss success story.)  

A French tartine consists of the following:  a chunk of good bread, some butter and honey or jam on top.  They vary this, of course.  Some choose more savory toppings, but this is what I stick with most mornings.  If I get bored, I’ll have some oatmeal with a bit of almond milk and berries, but the tartine, along with some fresh fruit, is my go-to breakfast.  Here is a great blog article on “The Perfect Tartine.”  

Although I do have a wonderful bakery in the town where I live, I am following Weight Watchers and trying to lose weight.  So, I came up with my own Weight Watchers-friendly tartine.  I don’t know about you, but I love a good English muffin.  Thomas makes a wonderful whole grain, light muffin that I love.  I top this with one tablespoon of Smart Balance Light Butter and one tablespoon of my favorite jam, Bonne Maman Strawberry Preserves.  The entire breakfast is only 5 Weight Watchers Points +.  

ImageImageImage

On the side, I have a piece of fruit such as a nectarine or a cup of fresh berries.  I drink my favorite Moroccan Mint tea and a glass of water with organic lemon.  (I always drink 8 ounces of room temperature water with lemon upon rising to detoxify my system and keep my skin clear.)  

Now, onto a delicious snack options.  I try not to snack often, but when I do reach for a snack it is usually a piece of fruit or some crackers with cheese and raw veggies on the side. 

ImageImage

Blue Diamond Artisan Nut-Thins with Flax Seeds (3 WW Points+) + 2 wedges of Light Laughing Cow Garlic & Herb cheese wedges (1 WW Points+) + 1 nectarine (0 WW Points+) = 4 WW Points+ total for a delicious snack.  I have herbal tea or water on the side.

ImageImage

Nestle Fat Free Hot Cocoa (1 WW Points+) + Hostess Greek Yogurt Cakes in Apple Cinnamon Swirl flavor (4 WW Points+) = 5 WW Points+ total.   If I want, I’ll add 1/2 of a banana to the side of this and it’s 0 WW Points+.  I also add 8 oz. of water on the side, as I try to drink 1-1.5 liters of water per day.

Now, the French would balk at the fat free version of hot cocoa, but I actually enjoy it.  Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I enjoy the full-fat version from Starbucks, or make my own using real cocoa, sugar and whipped cream.  My little corner bakery serves the best almond croissants and I will, on occasion, take my daughter for breakfast for croissants and a pot of tea.

It’s all about moderation.  These little tweaks in my diet have helped me lose over 20 pounds since March 2014.  

I am learning to reduce my portion sizes quite a bit.  I can’t believe how I used to eat.  Now I pay attention and I am much more disciplined.  I have no problem telling food pushers “no” when I am not hungry or when I am offered something I know is not good for me.

What do you have for breakfast?  I do hope you will try a tartine or some of the above mentioned snack suggestions and let me know what you think.  Please comment below or on my Facebook page.

Have a wonderful day!

~Amanda

Leave a Reply

