My Facial Experience with Anti-Aging High Frequency and Hot Stone Reflexology

Over the weekend, I decided to treat myself to a facial.  There is a great salon where I go to get my hair cut and they recently hired an esthetician named Jessie Pack.  I waffled back and forth on whether or not to get a facial.  I used to think that it was an unnecessary expense, but since I’ve formed the Invest in Yourself Plan, I decided to give it a go.  

Jessie offers a one hour or thirty minute facial.  I decided to go all out and get the one hour facial.  She also has various add-ons that you can add on to your facial.  I chose the “Hot Stone Reflexology” treatment and the “Anti-Aging High Frequency Treatment.”  I’ll break those down for you.

Hot Stone Reflexology:

The esthetician massages certain pressure points on your feet in order to target specific points of the body by using hot stones on the feet.  She also rubs a delicious moisturizer on your feet to soften them.  

Anti-Aging High Frequency:

Per Jessie Pack’s brochure:  “High Frequency is a machine apparatus that utilizes alternating current through a device called an electrode.  During manufacturing, most of the air has been removed from the electrodes, creating a vacuum in the tube.  The air is replaced with either neon gas, or argon gas.  As electricity passes through these gases, they emit visible shades of light and produce a mild heat effect on the skin.  The machine also produces Ozone, which has a germicidal effect on the skin.  The Neon Electrode is used to treat aging skin.  The Argon Electrode is used to treat acneic skin prone to breakouts.  The benefits of this treatment include:  antiseptic effect on the skin, stimulates circulation, oxygenates the skin, increases cell metabolism, helps to heal any open lesions after extraction, generates a warm feeling, creating a relaxing effect and leaving skin with a glow.

Here’s an article from TEI Spa Essentials regarding the benefits of High Frequency Facials.  

The Facial:

I am greeted by Jessie Pack.  She has perfectly smooth skin and a bright smile.  She has me fill out a questionnaire about my skin care regime, habits, along with any issues that I might be having with my skin.  Next, I am led to a room with a massage table and soft lighting.  Relaxing music and ocean sounds play in the background.  I am asked to change into a robe that covers me from the chest down.  After changing and getting onto the table beneath warmed blankets, I settle in.  Jessie asks me a few questions about my skin and if I have any concerns I’d like to address.  (For me, it’s the occasional bout of hormonal chin acne, red bumps on my cheeks and how to incorporate anti-aging techniques into my regime since I’m quickly approaching 40.)

She cleanses my face with a creamy, but light cleanser that smells of fresh herbs.  The cleanser is gently rubbed into the skin and taken off with soft cotton soaked in warm water.  I ask what the cleanser is and she tells me it is a cleanser she uses from CA Botana.  Next, with a fan brush, she applies an exfoliate mask to my face.  She tells me she is using the Sweet Milk and Lavender Exfoliate by Farmaesthetics.  

Image

It was such a pleasant experience and felt so wonderful that I am going to purchase this exfoliate to have at home and use it once a week.  The exfoliate mask is removed like the cleanser, with warm, wet cotton cloths.  

Next, she puts a cloth over my eyelids to shield them from the light and turns on a lamp/magnifier to start extractions.  She was very gentle, so it really did not hurt at all.  After this, she rubbed an herbal-scented oil on my face, wiped it off and applied a gingko mask with a fan brush, along with a warm, wet facial towel.  While my mask was setting, she used moisturizer to rub my neck, shoulders, arms, hands and scalp.  It was total bliss.  

When she finished that, she gingerly slid my hands into a pair of warm mittens and gently placed them on my belly.  Now it was time for the Hot Stone Reflexology.  She rubbed moisturizer all over my feet and massaged them.  Then, she began rubbing them with the hot stones.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was so incredibly relaxing!  This went on for a while (I never wanted her to stop!) and then she rubbed moisturizer on my feet, finally sliding them back beneath the warm blankets.

After my treatment, she used soft, warm cotton cloths to remove the mask from my face.  After the mask was off, she replied facial serum, moisturizer and dotted eye cream beneath my eyes.  She followed this with the Anti-Aging High Frequency treatment.

Jessie pulled out a gauzy face mask, placed it on my face and turned on the machine.  It makes a low humming sound and you can smell the heat coming from the wand.  I’ll admit that I was a bit nervous at first.  She placed the wand on my face and it was really, really warm.  In certain places, it sort of felt like a rubber band snapping the skin, but it’s not painful.  You can really feel the machine working!  I asked Jessie how often I should come in and she said every two weeks, but once a month is good, too.  

When finished, she rubbed more moisturizer on my skin and told me we were finished.  I got dressed and looked in the mirror before leaving the room.  My skin was absolutely glowing!  I have not seen it look this good in years.  I will definitely make room in my budget to have this done once per month.  The relaxation I’d experienced from the hands of Jessie Pack stayed with me for the remainder of my day.  I felt so incredibly serene.  

If you live in Western North Carolina or in the Upstate of South Carolina, I highly recommend you make an appointment at Studio Z in Columbus, North Carolina with Jessie Pack.  

Studio Z Hair & Nail Spa is located at 191 E. Mill Street, Columbus, NC  28722.  Their number is 828.551.9238.  

To make a facial appointment with Jessie Pack directly, you can reach her at 828.817.6063.  

This week, I’m interviewing Jessie, so if you have any questions you’d like me to ask her about skin care, please leave them below in the comments section or on my Facebook page.

Have a great week!

~Mrs. E

 

Leave a Reply

