Getting Healthy, Part 1

 

busy mom

See this picture? That was me just a few months ago, trying to do it all. (As usual!) 2015 was a crazy year for me and I am going to be glad to put it behind me. I had wanted to take charge of my health, but life got in the way. I had a job that kept getting more and more stressful by the day, aching joints, insomnia, anxiety, and if there was a cold or flu, I almost always caught it. In regards to the anxiety, I had a particularly bad attack that put me in the Emergency Room one night. That was my rock bottom.

Two days later, I found myself meditating alone in my living room to weird New Age music and crying.  I tried praying and asked a question. “What do you want me to do?” Moments later, a little voice inside of me whispered, “Get rid of whatever doesn’t make you happy.” So, I started to really think about how I could truly BE happy & change my life for the better. How could I, for once, be IN control of my life?  That day, I went into work and turned in my two-week notice.  Then, I bought a new journal & made a list of things I needed to change/incorporate into my life.

  1. Just say NO!!! And,boy, did I. It may have ruffled a few feathers, but that’s okay. I can’t be everywhere at once or do everything. The extra “Me Time” has been great for reducing stress.
  2. Quit what isn’t working for you. In this case, it was my job. Trying to be Supermom and Superlibrarian wasn’t cutting it. So, I chose to be just Mom. And I’m happy with my choice.
  3. I chose to homeschool my 10-year old son. The tears, the stress over homework, Common Core, etc. was too much for my child. He’s a sweet, sensitive boy and was getting left behind. I know I did the right thing. He is thriving at our little homeschool. I get to see how happy he gets when he finally grasps a new math concept, or learns about science. We take nature walks, read books together, and go on field trips. Learning + Love = Bliss & Success.
  4. I decided enough was enough with my weight issues. I’m 40 now, and I know I won’t be the next Miranda Kerr, but I can lose weight and be a healthier version of myself. It’s now or never.
  5. I hired a holistic nutritionist. I tried vegetarian, then went to low-carb, now I’m finding myself walking a vegan path. Do whatever works for you. I was never a huge meat eater to begin with, so giving it up wasn’t hard for me. Dairy, wheat, & sugar were my biggest crutches. It was time to give them up. I can already see my skin clearing up, I’m down a few pounds, and I have more energy. More about this in Part 2.
  6. I’ve started moving…gently. I have never been a gym rat and I most likely never will. I love walking though! I use a FitBit (on occasion) and I like tracking my steps. I like to walk outside when I can, but when it’s cold or rainy, I use my treadmill. Just two miles/day makes me feel great. Some days I’ll do three miles,but I don’t want to push it. Slow & steady wins the race.
  7. Strength training. I’ve decided to do this twice a week. Plus, I need to work on my posture. Leaning over a computer for years at work did not do my body good. It’s something I’m working on.

I’ll write more tomorrow in Part 2 later this week. How are you making positive changes, or how do you plan to do so? Please comment/share below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

